Balkan Bibliography

I am so thrilled that Kirk at Americans for Bosnia and Shaina at The Daily Seyahatname compiled  an annotated bibliography on Bosnia specifically and the former-Yugoslavia in general.  As I begin to research my MA degree, this is very helpful…thanks for your hard work!  The list can be found here and the following books are included so far:

My Favorite Presents.... Christmas 2009 🙂

A Problem From Hell:America in the Age of Genocide/Samantha Power
Aftermath: Bosnia’s Long Road to Peace/Sara Terry
Balkan Express/Slavenka Drakulic
The Balkans/Mark Mazower
The Balkans/Misha Glenny
Balkan Tragedy/Susan Woodward
Be Not Afraid, for You Have Sons in America/Stacey Sullivan
Black Book of Bosnia/Editors of “New Republic”
Blood and Vengeance/Chuck Sudetic
Bosnia: A Short History/Noel Malcolm
Bosnia: A Tradition Betrayed/Donia and Fine
Bosnia After Dayton/Sumantra Bose
The Bosnian Muslims: Denial of a Nation/Friedman
The Bone Woman: A Forensic Anthropologist Search for Truth in the Mass Graves of Rwanda, Croatia, Bosnia and Kosovo/Clea Koff
The Bridge Betrayed/Michael Sells
Burn This House: The Making and Unmaking of Yugoslavia/ Udovicki and Ridgeway, ed.
Conceit of Innocence/Mestrovic
Complicity With Evil/Adam LeBor
Cry Bosnia/Paul Harris
The Culture of Politics in Serbia: Nationalism and the Destruction of Alternatives/Eric Gordy
The Destruction of Yugoslavia/Branka Magas
Divide and Fall/Radha Kumar
Endgame/David Rohde
The Fall of Yugoslavia/Misha Glenny
The Fixer/Joe Sacco
Fools Rush In/Bill Carter
From Enemy Territory/Mladen Vuksanovic
Genocide and Resistance in Hitler’s Bosnia: The Partisans and the Chetniks, 1941-1943/Marko Attila Hoare
Genocide in Bosnia/Norman Cigar
Hearts Grown Brutal/Roger Cohen
Heavenly Serbia: From Myth to Genocide/Branimir Anzulovic
The History of Bosnia: From the Middle Ages to the Present Day/Marko Attila Hoare
How Bosnia Armed/Marko Attila Hoare
Hunting the Tiger: The Fast Life and Violent Death of the Balkan’s Most Dangerous Man (Arkan)/Christopher S. Stewart
In Harm’s Way/Martin Bell
Indictment at the Hague/Norman Cigar, Paul Williams
The Key To My Neighbor’s House/Elizabeth Neuffer
Kosovo/Tim Judah
Kosovo/Noel Malcolm
Like Eating a Stone
Love Thy Neighbor/Peter Maass
Madness Visible/ Janine di Giovanni
Merry Christmas, Mr. Larry/Larry Hollingsworth
Milosevic: A Biography/Adam LeBor
My War Gone By, I Miss it So/Anthony Lloyd
The New Bosnian Mosaic/Bougarel, Helms, Duijzings
Not My Turn To Die/Heleta
A Paper House: The Ending of Yugoslavia/Mark Thompson
Postcards from the Grave/ Emir Suljagic -personal memoir, Srebrenica
Safe Area Gorazde/Joe Sacco
Sarajevo: A War Journal/Zlatko Dixdarevic
Sarajevo Blues/Semezdin Mehmedinovic
Sarajevo Daily/Tom Gjelten
Sarajevo: Exodus of a City
Seasons in Hell/ Ed Vulliamy
Serbia’s Secret War/Philip Cohen
The Serbs/Tim Judah
Slaughterhouse/David Reiff
Srebrenica: Record of a War Crime/ Jan Willem Honig and Norbert Both
The Suitcase: Refugee voices from Bosnia and Croatia/
The Stone Fields/Courtney Angela Broic
The Tenth Circle of Hell/Rezak Hukanovic
Then They Started Shooting/Dynne Jones
They Would Never Hurt a Fly/ Slavenka Drakulic
This Time We Knew/Cushman and Mestrovic
To End A War/Holbrooke
Under the UN Flag/Hasan Nuhanovic
War Hospital/Sheri Fink
The War in Bosnia-Herzegovina: ethnic conflict and international intervention/Burg and Shoup
War Hospital/Sheri Fink
This Was Not Our War: Bosnian women reclaiming the peace/Hunt
Wly Bosnia/Rabia Ali, ed.
When History is a Nightmare/Stevan Weine
A Witness to Genocide/Gutman
With their Backs to the World/Asne Seierstand
Yugoslavia’s Floody Collapse/Christopher Bennett
Yugoslavia: Death of a Nation/Silber and Little

  1. So, what’s your thesis topic?

    • Christine
    • February 8th, 2010

    Well, I just started school so my topic changes often… Right now I’m really interested in the current education system in Bosnia and how it reflects the partitioned state.

    And you? What’s your thesis topic? 🙂

    • Sarah Correia
    • February 8th, 2010

    Kirks’s reviews are most useful believe me! You should also explore the site Balkan Witness and domovina.net . You can also find very good stuff at the site of the Bosnian Institute bosnia.org, and at Professor Michael Sells archive

    http://web.archive.org/web/20060405014410/www.haverford.edu/relg/sells/reports.html

    If you’re interested in education, the site of the OSCE delegation in Bosnia has stuff for you there.

  2. The Ustasha movement. In my thesis, I argue that the driving dynamics of the Ustasha movement was its ethnic separatist agenda, its Roman Catholic identity, and its diasporic existence. I argue that this explains its terrorist methodology and tactics, its high body count during the Second World War, and its adoption of a fascist ideology.

    I also examine the relationship between the Ustasha movement and the United States government. I argue that the need and desire for recognition is a keep factor in driving Ustasha and later neo-Ustasha activity and tactics in the post-Second World War time frame. First by being useful, then through lobbying, and finally violence, the Ustashi tried to gain American support. Of course, once Tito split with Stalin, there was no chance of the United States backing them, so once the American goverment realizes that Tito will die and possibly take Yugoslavia with him and the Ustashi turn violent against the United States, the US smacks them down with some RICO trials.

    Then I trace the Ustashi involvement in the Homeland War. I go into some detail here, but the comment box isn’t working so I can’t add more, assuming you’re still reading.

    • Christine
    • February 9th, 2010

    Sarah… working for the OSCE would be my dream job after this program. They are working on alternative textbooks, inclusive religious education classes, community building, etc. For this reason, I want my thesis to somehow relate to my interest in their education system.

    I think its interesting (yet very alarming) to look at the way schools function in Bosnia- how the future generations are fed nationalist rhetoric and taught to hate their neighbors. The education system is a good way to examine how Bosnia is becoming more and more partitioned- as the OSCE says… a country is only as stable and effective as its schools- one can judge a country’s state reforms by their education reforms…. I really believe in this sentiment.

    HP- I think your thesis topic sounds very, very interesting. Will you spend much time looking at how the Catholic Church endorsed and collaborated with the Ustase? Or anything about the legacy of the ustase party today? Id like to read this… happy researching!

  3. In my thesis, I argue that the Ustasha movement’s ability to acquire both clerical sanction and the appearance of such allowed them to conduct such horrific violence. My thesis continues through to about 2008 and I argue that the movement itself is largely gone, but that its influence lives on.

  4. Someone recently gave me a bunch of Joe Sacco’s books (including the ones you listed) and I was curious to hear other’s opinions on them. I’ve never been into graphic novels, but someone gave them to me knowing my interest in the region. I guess they figured they would be my gateway to graphic novels.

      • bloggingbalkanistan
      • March 8th, 2010

      Safe Area Gorazde was the first graphic novel I read, and it really was my gateway into other graphic novels, and graphic animated films (like ‘Waltz with Bashir’ and Persepolis.)

      But I also think that Safe Area Gorazde is one of the best books written about Bosnia, dovetaling various individual stories of life in Gorazde during the war, a brief history of the major events in the region, etc.

      If you get around to reading it, would love to hear your opinion.

    • Christine
    • February 27th, 2010

    Hey Joel,
    I have not read Joe Sacco’s book on Gorazde but I would like to… let me know how it is! 🙂

  1. May 26th, 2010

Leave a Reply

